Skip to main content

All Blacks win their second Rugby World Cup

23 October 2011

 Richie McCaw lifts the Webb Ellis Cup
Richie McCaw lifts the Webb Ellis Cup (NZHerald/

The All Blacks won the Webb Ellis Cup for the second time in seven attempts, defending grimly to hold onto an 8–7 lead over France in front of 61,000 spectators at Eden Park, Auckland. This ground had also been the venue for New Zealand’s previous Rugby World Cup triumph, on 20 June 1987.

In the 24 years between the two tournaments, the All Blacks won 194 and lost 47 of their 245 tests, a winning rate of nearly 80%. They won the Tri-Nations Series, contested annually against their strongest rivals Australia and South Africa from 1996, 10 times out of 16. They won series against the British and Irish Lions in 1993 and 2005, and achieved Grand Slams over all four ‘home’ (British) unions in 2005, 2008 and 2010. The All Blacks could probably walk on water. What they could not do was win a Rugby World Cup.

The 1991 All Blacks, past their best and with incompatible coaches, lost a semi-final to eventual world champions Australia. The 1995 team was the strongest at the tournament but was beaten in the final by food poisoning and an inspirational opposing ‘captain’ – South African President Nelson Mandela wore Francois Pienaar’s number six jersey and used the Springboks to help unify his country, which had held its first elections under universal suffrage the previous year. In 1999, a competent All Black side was undone by 30 minutes of French magic. The 2003 team lost a semi-final to an Australian team it had recently beaten 51–20. As for 2007, the less said about Cardiff, referee Wayne Barnes and quarter-final opponents France, the better.

In 2011, New Zealand hosted the tournament for the first time since 1987. More than 130,000 overseas visitors attended matches at 12 venues. The spring weather was mostly kind, and the only shadow on the tournament was the devastating 22 February 2011 earthquake, which meant that no matches could be played in Christchurch. And All Black first-five-eighths kept suffering tournament-ending injuries….

All Blacks’ head coach Graham Henry had been nicknamed ‘The Great Redeemer’ during a stint coaching Wales. This was his opportunity for redemption back home – he had coached the ill-fated 2007 All Blacks. All four pool matches, including one against France, were won easily, and Argentina and Australia were despatched in knockout matches. France somehow made it to the final despite losing to Tonga, amid reports that the players had in effect sacked coach Marc Lièvremont. What could possibly go wrong for the hosts?

The French advanced towards the pre-match haka and seldom took a backward step thereafter. Before halftime, fourth-choice first-five Stephen Donald was on the pitch. Called back from holiday and visibly not at peak fitness, ‘Beaver’ became an unlikely hero by kicking a wobbly penalty that ultimately secured victory. The real hero of the hour was captain Richie McCaw, who played the knockout matches with a broken bone in his foot.

How to cite this page

All Blacks win their second Rugby World Cup, URL:, (Manatū Taonga — Ministry for Culture and Heritage), updated