10 December

Rutherford wins Nobel Prize

1908 Rutherford wins Nobel Prize

Ernest Rutherford’s discoveries about the nature of atoms shaped modern science and paved the way for nuclear physics. Albert Einstein called him a ‘second Newton’ who had ‘tunnelled into the very material of God’. Read more...

Maurice Wilkins wins Nobel Prize

1962 Maurice Wilkins wins Nobel Prize

New Zealand-born Maurice Wilkins and his colleagues James Watson and Francis Crick shared the prize for their studies on the structure of deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA), the genetic molecule found in all organisms. Read more...